1. Home
  2. Adapters
  3. Dropbox Business (Admin)

Dropbox Business (Admin)

DESCRIPTION:  Dropbox is a cloud provider operating from www.dropbox.com. Dropbox for Business provides a collaborative, multi-user environment for Dropbox.  The Dropbox for Business system is required for account mapping (in which data from multiple accounts on a source is transferred to corresponding accounts on the target), and is only available if you have purchased account mapping. You must have Dropbox admin credentials to use this system.

Dropbox supports external owners (who have shared data with internal owners) and sharees. You must select Include Shared Folders to expose externally owned data; review precautions for using Include Shared Folders before migrating data with it.

SUPPORTED POPS:  All cloud POPs; CFP-West recommended.

System Fields:

The Dropbox for Business system has no system-specific fields to complete.

Dropbox Source and Target Node Configuration

Source Node Configuration

SOURCE ACCOUNT LIST Select the account(s) you wish to transfer. If you select multiple accounts, you will transfer the entire contents of each account. If you select a single account, you will see an additional field, Source Files and Folders. You can select all of the data from the one account using the Source Files and Folders selector, or you can select a subset of the data in the one account.

SOURCE FILES AND FOLDERS This field will only be displayed if a single account is selected from the Source Account List chooser. Note that folders that are shared with the current user will be displayed in the Source Files and Folders even if they are not the owner of those folders.

Target Node Configuration

TARGET TEAM MEMBER  The account that will receive all files from the source. Note that if you select a team member, it will nullify any directives from the spreadsheet for account mapping. If you are running account mapping, this field should be left blank.

DESTINATION FOLDER  Select the folder name into which you wish to transfer your files on the target (destination) server.

Exclude Shared Folders Filters out shared folders from the file chooser on the target. If there are a lot of Team Folders, this can speed up listing of the Dropbox target.

Advanced Dropbox Fields

About Batch Uploads

Batch uploads are a Dropbox technology that accelerates file uploads to Dropbox.  Do not change batch settings unless instructed to do so by Tervela.

BATCH COMPLETION POLL INTERVAL Sets the interval in milliseconds to check for whether the Dropbox batch upload is complete.

MAX TIME PER UPLOAD BATCH SETS Sets the time in milliseconds for each batch of files to be gathered.

MAX FILES PER UPLOAD BATCH Sets the max time in milliseconds for uploading a batch file set to Dropbox.  A setting of 0 disables batch uploads.

MAXIMUM NUMBER OF BATCHES THAT CAN BE OUTSTANDING  When exceeded, continue to grow the existing batch rather than creating a new one.

MILLISECONDS BEFORE CHECKING FOR EACH BATCH COMPLETION Minimum time before checking that each batch is complete.

MAX BYTES PER UPLOAD BATCH A setting of 0 disables the byte limit.

TARGET EXCLUDE FILES The defaults for these fields exclude files not supported for transfer to Dropbox. These are primarily system files, such as thumbs.db files, and temp files.

Pre-provision All Target User Accounts

Cloud FastPath cannot move data to a Dropbox account unless you have allocated storage space for it.

Account Mapping Considerations

Like many cloud service providers, Dropbox uses waterfall permissions, which means if a folder is shared with another user, all files and subfolders that are further down in the directory tree will also be shared with that user.  Dropbox does not support nested permissions at this time except in team folders and CDM personal accounts, meaning that if you have a shared folder, you cannot apply separate permissions to any of its subfolders unless it is a Team folder.

Suppressing Notifications in Dropbox

Internal Users: Email notifications for shared folders are suppressed, but notifications for shared files cannot be suppressed.
External Users: Email notifications for shared folders are suppressed, but notifications for shared files cannot be suppressed.

The Paths and Path Conflicts tabs of the mapping sheet list all sharing directives for both folders and files if you generate a map with the default settings.  If you are concerned with the number of emails generated by shared files, we recommend the following procedure:

  1. Generate the map with the default settings in the mapping wizard.  Any files shared on the source will be listed in the Paths and Path Conflicts tabs.
  2. Click on Settings in the white bordered menu box on the right side of the map wizard to go to the Settings page.  Select the radio button for “Ignore Permissions on Files.”
  3. Go to the Define Map map page and click the Regenerate Map button.  That will rebuild a map file that has all of the file shares removed.
  4. Review the two versions of your map – with and without file shares – and determine whether you want to apply shares to all, some, or none of the files.  You also have the option to apply the file’s permissions to a folder further up the tree, provided that conforms to Dropbox’s conventions for nested sharing.  Be aware that if you share a folder with a given user, they will have access to the entire contents of that folder.

Unsupported Files and Characters

The below files and characters will not be migrated into Dropbox:

  • Files starting with a tilde (~) and ending with .tmp
  • Files that start with the following characters:
    • ~$
    • .~
  • Files with the following names:
    • .ds_store
    • thumbs.db
    • desktop.ini
    • icon\r
    • .dropbox
    • .dropbox.attr

Dropbox Paper files are not migrated out of Dropbox at this time.

Users with Trailing # Signs

Occasionally, sharees for a Dropbox source job will display in the users and paths tabs of the spreadsheet with a trailing # symbol (e.g. joe@company.com#).  These are users who once shared data on the source as internal users, but have since been deleted from the account.  At that point, Dropbox considers those users to be external sharees. Most customers skip these users in the spreadsheet, but they may also be mapped to valid target accounts, including the admin account.

About Team Folders

Team folders in Dropbox support nested sharing. They can only be shared with Groups at the top level, but can be shared with additional Groups and Users further down in the tree. Existing Team folders are displayed in the Target Paths tab, and new Team folders may be created in this same tab. If you are planning to send data to a Team Folder, be sure the Include Shared Folders checkbox is selected for the Dropbox target node of your job.  Don’t forget to add any needed Groups to your Dropbox account that will be accessing the top level of Team Folders; this must be done before the Account Mapping spreadsheet is generated for the job.  See Account and Permissions Spreadsheet Editing and Migrating to Dropbox Team Folders for additional details on adding and working with Team folders.

Dropbox CDM (Dropbox for Business for Smaller Businesses)

Dropbox CDM can be identified by the following text in your Dropbox system and target node:

Has team shared dropbox Yes

To set up a CDM sourced job, select only the oauth /admin account from the Accounts chooser on the Accounts and Files page.  You can then select the folders for individual users (which will be labeled with their names), team folders, or both from the File chooser.

If you try to select more than one account from the Accounts chooser, it will return the following error: Source Account List: One account must be selected in Team Space mode.

Transferring Google Docs from Dropbox

CFP supports transferring Google Docs from Dropbox.  Google docs, sheets and slides will be exported as .docx, .xlsx, and .pptx files respectively, and the exported files will be transferred to the target.  CFP uses the export tools provided by Google, and associated errors and limitations of Google’s exporter – notably the 10-GB limit for exported files – must be addressed by user remediation.

CFP best practices for Google docs files in Dropbox are to complete all Google doc editing and allow ample time for those documents to save – back on Google as well as on Dropbox – in advance of the actual transfer.  Avoid editing Google docs while active transfer is in progress.  Documents that are still saving while the migration is in progress may result in additional files on the target appended with ‘(Conflicted Copy)’ in the file name.

Updated on April 14, 2021

Related Articles